Month 2 on T

This is my second month on Testosterone. Still feeling strong, confident and happy. Only marked effect of T is pimples. Frustrating and an odd mark of honor at the same time. No weight gain or loss. Feel physically stronger and more energetic. Feel more able to hold my seat in confrontations or disagreements. Ok, I guess there are more effects than just pimples.

I have a meeting today at the Gender Identity Center in Denver to see how I can become affiliated with them. In my search for mental health support around this last year, I did not find a single trans-man or woman therapist. Many straight and open or gay. I would have preferred working with someone who has been through it on all levels. Someone who really gets it. So I figure, I am a commodity. Chuckle. I do have something to offer that others don’t, given my lifelong struggle with this and now going thru the transition. So we will see what happens.

A side note: the above meeting is also a effect of making this choice in the sense that 1 year ago I would never have reached out to a group I wanted to connect with. My social anxiety would have taken over. With the GIC I put myself out there openly and confidently. I got a reply immediately and have maintained openness and confidence. Sure pangs of the old anxiety come, but less and they do not take over. Pretty awesome.

Leave a Reply

