Misogyny

Misogyny (/mɪˈsɒdʒɪni/) is the hatred or dislike of women or girls. Misogyny can be manifested in numerous ways, including sexual discrimination, denigration of women, violence against women, and sexual objectification of women.[1][2] Misogyny has been characterised as a prominent feature of the mythologies of the ancient world as well as of various religions. In addition, many influential Western philosophers have been described as misogynistic.[1][3] The counterpart of misogyny is misandry, the hatred or dislike of men; the antonym of misogyny is philogyny, the love or fondness of women.

– Wikipedia

I have not personally experienced the criticism from feminist for being trans. I have, however, heard others receiving a lot of negativity that stems from the idea that to be a trans man, moving from female to male or even closer on the spectrum, is somehow linked to misogyny – implying that a trans man, in his transition will become just another misogynistic man. I find this incredibly limited and unconscious in its thinking. While I am sure there are some transmen who completely disconnect from the feminine aspects of their being and may even hate women, I have not experienced this to be the norm. And it certainly isn’t my experience.

I love women and always have. I love and honor my “feminine” traits (and actually question if they are decidedly feminine or if that just comes from the separation of the sexes for survival). I find, in my transition, as I “man up” more – I do it from a place of self-responsibility and honor. I find I am creating within myself and new human, one that balances the masculine and the feminine. I know this isn’t new, many have been striving for this and living this for decades, as have I. Transitioning for me has helped the synthesis. Misogyny is nowhere in my realm of thought, action or attitude. Nor is misandry – the hate of men. Trans people get to cross a divide, I believe, and heal a rift between the sexes. Again not all do, but it is an opportunity that many take. Whether we are f-m, m-f, two-spirited or gender fluid or queer, we get to recreate the human experience. We are, innately, the coming together of two forces – the force of the body we were birthed in and the force of the body we know to be our true identity. My experience is that I cannot eradicate the truth of the body I was born with just as I cannot eradicate the experience I have of being born in the wrong body. The years I spent as a woman will always inform and influence me. Just as now, as I embrace and manifest more fully my masculine energies, these influence and inform me. I am a greater whole. All trans people have the opportunity of experiencing this greater whole. I understand not all want to and that is ok too. We need all expressions. But the very nature of trans reality heals a rift and can resolve all the beliefs and projections that create misogyny and misandry. We are not traitors, we are healers.

2 Comments

  1. Thank you for this post. I feel unqualified to talk on the subject, but I feel scared about the possibility of anger and confusion that I might experience from those who feel I am “threatening” masculinity by abandoning it as much as possible. It seems silly to me as I don’t feel like I’m having to cross a bridge spanning a “gap” but more like I’m just crossing a fake curtain that everyone treats as a wall. It feels ridiculous, honestly. I’m not a different person. I just want to be more comfortable with how I present myself. It doesn’t feel like a gap at all. The hatred of anyone on anywhere relative to the “curtain” seems insane to me now.

  2. Haylee – I completely agree. I appreciate the analogy of the curtain between masculine and feminine. So many perceive it as a gap or large divide. The reality is the divide is made up and exists in our heads as real. There is no threat. I just bought a bunch of books on gender studies. Quite fascinating – each culture has created its own gender norms based on their “needs”. Indonesia once had 5 genders, now has 3. The power dynamic between male and female has created and supported this divide for too long. Maybe together we can all bring down the wall.

Leave a Reply

