Holidays and conversation

2014 s almost to an end. I am ready for a new year full of new opportunities and growth. Christmas was its usual challenge. Next year I gotta figure something different out. I was actually excited in some ways primarily because my family would be meeting my ex-girl friends new girl friend. As my sister said we have an interesting blended family. Family dynamics left me overly sensitive and I left early. Which was 8 pm and my planned departure time anyways. I left abruptly is better stated. Anyways, a couple days later I had a bite to eat with my dad. My father is a man of not many words so I am always struck when he talks. Well, he talked. It was the day before my birthday and I am guessing the struggles on Christmas and my bday motivated him. He told me he has always felt his purpose in life was to have and provide for a family and to raise kids that would make a difference in the world. He raised 5 great kids each making a mark in their own ways. He said to me that he felt the most proud of me; that I had and am making a difference in the world in a very significant way – first as a lesbian and now as a transman. He acknowledged the way that I provoke thought and expansion. He spoke about the possibility of my going back to school and what I would do with that education – again to promote change. I am not sure that in all these years my dad has ever expressed his pride for me. I took it in and still feel it swimming in me. It feels like a good place to start the new year.

I hope 2015 brings all of you joy, acceptance and love!!

5 Comments

  1. Wow, what an awesome gift your dad gave you. Many of us will never hear those words from our parents. Cherish and keep them close to your heart forever as I’m sure you will. Happy Birthday and Happy New Year.

Leave a Reply

