I am legal

Woo whoo!! I am now legally Sky and my drivers license has M. Such a long and arduous process. And am I remembering everything?Diplomas, professional licenses, someone reminded me to tell the post master otherwise I might not get mail – would never have thought of that one. Debating on the birth certificate. I am curious what others have done. And does it matter? is this one essential for reasons I am not thinking of?

Gender marker was a tough one for me. I did decide to change it should the day come that I can actually grow a beard – or my fantasied sexy 5 o’clock shadow. It will likely make traveling easier. But I still don’t feel wholly male identified.

Its like what I told one of the psychiatrists I work with recently. We were with a client and the psych ended a sentence early something like “Sky will be your therapist so check in with….” and she faded off not finishing the sentence. She just couldn’t get “them” out. We talked after, and I said think of it this way as she struggled with the grammar – “when you say them in reference to me you are acknowledging my dual nature, as I identify as two-spirited”. Something about this seemed to have registered. We’ll see.

I just wish that there was a non-binary gender marker for all those legal documents. As male feels as false to me as female does.

16 Comments

  1. Congrats to you!! I’m curious about the diploma thing…do they issue a new one or somehow amend your existing one? I’m getting ready to start the legal name change thing too soon and am curious.

      • I realize I didn’t answer your question completely. I’m planning on changing my name legally but not sure about gender markers yet, though I probably will at some point. As far as the birth certificate, I can’t remember the last time I needed to show anyone my birth certificate so I personally don’t see any need to change it. I can’t think of a reason to do it unless you just really want to or a legit reason comes up.

      • Yeah it seems like as long as I have a passport updated then birth certificate isn’t necessary to me as well. And changing name on passport isn’t that difficult and doesn’t require birth cert as long as you have a passport that is still valid. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this.

      • Yeah the passport was the only thing I could think of that you might need the birth certificate for, but I think only when you first get one and I’m not sure about that at all. If you ever decide to run for president it might be needed too but probably only if you have a foreign sounding name and then they still won’t believe you.

      • Fortunately my foreign sounding last name is more Swedish/Judea-Christian than African/Islamic. And politics drive me too crazy to ever run. So I think unless I learn anything new about the importance of changing birth cert. I am going to let that one go!!

        On the passport side, for your future reference, if you have an existing US passport, then all you need is that, name change document and letter from doctor for gender marker change should you so chose. Oh and of course a form from them to fill out stating why you are getting a new one. And 110 dollars.

  2. Hello, Sky. 🙂 Congratulations on your name change! I have been enjoying exploring your blog. 🙂

    I just had a couple thoughts I wanted to share re: birth certificate. This may vary from state to state, but when I got married I was required to present a notarized copy of my birth certificate when I applied for the license. So there is that. Also, if you were to ever *lose* your passport or have it stolen, I believe a birth certificate is one of the (MANY) requirements for having a new one issued. These days though, they may settle for a retina scan and a DNA swab. 😉

    • Glad you are enjoying my blog. I perused yours today with great interest as well. I believe you are correct about losing the passport and needing birth certificate to get a new one. Very good point. And good to know about needing it for marriage too. Would never have thought about that – but historically marriage was never an option for me anyways. 🙂 And thanks for the chuckle about DNA or retinal scan.

Leave a Reply

