Learning

The other day I began training a new therapist at my county job. Here is how [name] introduced [name].

“Hi, I am [name] and prefer no pronouns to reflect my androgynous nature”. Just like that. I could not have fathomed doing this, obviously, as it took me a while to come out at work. But I so appreciate the direct non-issue approach. I wonder did [name] do this with everyone upon meeting them or specifically with me as it appeared [name] knew my trans status.

As I get more comfortable with transitioning and find myself letting go of distrust and fear of others reactions, I think I will try this approach at my next opportunity.

4 Comments

  1. I’ve told everyone since transitioning that I prefer no pronouns and would rather people just use my name, since I’m proud of it. But so many people find this difficult to do, so I first said to use he/him/his and now say they/them/theirs. Pronouns are just dumb, I’ve decided.

Leave a Reply

